There has been a bit of controversy surrounding a setting on the online platform that can allow the company to always be aware of where you are located.
Critics worry that by selecting the “Always” option under the “Share Location” option that Uber “can see where you end up after you leave the car.”
In January, Uber was made to pay a fine of $20,000 after a New York investigation found that their employees were viewing information on consumer whereabouts while on rides in real time.
Uber insists that the feature exists solely for the purposes of safety and that it only keeps tab on people for the first five minutes after they are dropped off.
The firm also emphasizes that this tool will help them to determine the best areas to offer their services due to demand.